Governor Brown Announces California Arts Council Appointments

SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. announced on January 3, 2019, the following appointments to the California Arts Council:

New Appointment

Jodie Evans, 64, of Los Angeles, has been appointed to the California Arts Council. Evans has been a peace, environmental, women’s rights and social justice activist for over forty-five years. She is the co-founder of CODEPINK that works to stop US Military interventions overseas, promotes diplomatic solutions and Peace. She served in the administration of Governor Jerry Brown and ran his presidential campaigns. She published two books, “Stop the Next War Now” and “Twilight of Empire,” and produced several documentary films, including the Oscar and Emmy-nominated “The Most Dangerous Man in America,” And “The Square.” and Naomi Klein’s; “This Changes Everything”. She sits on many boards, including 826LA, Rainforest Action Network, Institute for Policy Studies, People’s Support Foundation, Center for A New Economy and Drug Policy Alliance. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $100 per diem. Evans is a Democrat. 


Louise McGuinness, 81, of Oakland, has been reappointed to the California Arts Council where she has served since 2015. McGuinness has been a working artist since 1970, and presently serves on the Women’s Board of the Oakland Museum of California. She has been a member of the Board since 2010 and previously served on its Acquisitions and Grants Committees. As a jewelry artist/craftswoman whose business is established under the name “These Hands,” McGuinness was part of the burgeoning American Crafts Movement and participated in the groundbreaking first City of Omaha Crafts show in 1971. Her award-winning work has been exhibited at shows on both coasts, in galleries across the United States, and at the World’s Fair in Spain. In the 1980s she established a studio to teach young artists her techniques and in 2001 began a solo practice, emphasizing one-of-a-kind and limited edition work. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $100 per diem. McGuinness is a Democrat.

Council Members Phoebe Beasley, Christopher Coppola, Steven Oliver, and Rosalind Wyman have completed their appointed terms as of January 1, 2019.

# # #

The mission of the California Arts Council, a state agency, is to advance California through the arts and creativity. The Council is committed to building public will and resources for the arts; fostering accessible arts initiatives that reflect contributions from all of California’s diverse populations; serving as a thought leader and champion for the arts; and providing effective and relevant programs and services.

Members of the California Arts Council include: Chair Nashormeh Lindo, Vice Chair Larry Baza, Juan Devis, Jodie Evans, Kathleen Gallegos, Jaime Galli, Donn K. Harris, and Louise McGuinness. Learn more at



Kimberly Brown

Subscribe to the California ArtBeat weekly newsletter

Skip to content