California Arts Council

State of California

National Heritage and Jazz Master Fellowships Announced
Six of the NEA's fourteen recipients this year are Californians

Published: 06-28-2011

San Jose Taiko artistic directors Roy and PJ Hirabayashi, and Carlinhos Pandeiro de Ouro, a Los Angeles Pandeiro player and percussionist, are among this year's National Heritage Fellowship recipients. The National Heritage Fellowship is the nation's highest honor in the folk and traditional arts. The National Endowment for the Arts, with support from the Golden Corral Corporation, will give each of this year's nine recipients an award of $25,000. 

San Jose Taiko is a former grantee of California Arts Council programs and was listed in its Performing Arts Touring and Presenting Artists Directory.

The other seven National Heritage Fellowship honorees are: Laverne Brackens, a Texas quilter; Bo Dollis, a Louisiana Mardi Gras Indian Chief; Jim Griffith, an Arizona folklorist born in Santa Barbara, California; Ledward Kaapana, a Hawaiian slack key guitarist; Frank Newsome, a Virginia Old Regular Baptist singer; Warner Williams, a Maryland Piedmont blues songster; and Yuri Yunakov, a Bulgarian saxophonist presently living in New Jersey.

Charlie Haden, a bassist, composer and educator from Agoura Hills, received one of the NEA's five Jazz Master Fellowships. The Jazz Master Fellowship is also a $25,000 award honoring a lifetime of achievement.

The California Arts Council congratulates these outstanding artists. More information about the awards and their recipients may be found here and here.

return to from the vault